Skip to content

C4G – Bin There

December 7, 2012

I started C4G a bit disheartened. I was one of the few CM students that had decided to stay in this admittedly more rigid section of senior design, and it was starting to seem like a mistake. As organizations came up across the first month or so, it seemed like every organization had a problem they knew could be solve, but consisted of using a toolset I didn’t have. I recognized that this could also just be coincidence, but I started wondering if this was actually indicative of my future in computing past college. Cue my obvious joy then when a group, the Georgia Tech Office of Solid Waste Management and Recycling presented and said they had an issue more in the way of a design problem that was open ended. They needed something to simply “increase recycling”. The open-endedness of the project was really appealing to me, I would be able to design a solution from its inception and see it through to deployment. Across our time developing our app for OSWM&R, I really felt like we were doing something meaningful for the group. I attribute this to the highly collaborative spirit the project held with the group. We maintained frequent communication amongst ourselves as well as the office, so what we were making was just as much their’s. I’m graduating this semester so I won’t be able to work on the project come this spring semester, but I am confident the work we have done up to this point has more than satisfied our client and represents the start of a great relationship between OSWM&R and C4G and that those who follow us will have a solid foundation in which to build upon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

